The Mom Cut

As my daughter approaches six months of life, it only made sense for me to turn in my long locks card. I officially have the dreaded “mom hair”. When I was younger, I always assumed that I would be better able to balance “personal grooming time” and “make sure baby is thriving time”. False. Personal grooming has fallen by the wayside. The things I have kept up with (My husband would say ‘Thank God’): showering, brushing my teeth, and plucking my eyebrows. The last in the list is to ensure looking like a human vs. a yeti. You’re welcome. Long gone are the days of makeup. In fact, you’d be lucky to catch me with a freshly washed head of hair. I want to kiss the person who invented dry shampoo.

I have what I like to call an “extended bob”. It is extended in the sense of width, not length. My hair is so thick that my short hair bounces like an inch from my face. The hairdresser even stated, “We could spend all day thinning your hair and you’d still have enough! *nervous laughter*” Yes, Christine.. we would. Thank you for your observation. The only good thing to come out of this life event was that I was able to donate about 14 in. of hair to Locks of Love. However, that isn’t the first thing I think of the morning after falling asleep with a wet head. The things I think are not suitable for a family blog post.

So here we are. Less hair, more work. Not what I had in mind.

-A&I

One thought on “The Mom Cut

Leave a Reply

